2009 Summer Vacation Has Arrived

Posted: June 25, 2009 in Miscellaneous
Wow! That was a quick two months since I first mentioned going on this vacation. The time has arrived…well almost. We leave tomorrow night and I can’t wait. All the hotel rooms are reserved and paid for in advance and our trip itinerary was completed 2-3 weeks ago. Quite a change from our normal routine in planning out road trips, which are often done spontaneously.
 
 
Shelly and I were just talking the other night about how a trip like this would not have been possible if we were still living in Oregon. Too far to drive. It reminded us of when we learned that we were going to have to move away from Oregon if Shelly wanted to keep her job at Qwest. The choices were Boise, Idaho, Denver, CO and Des Moines, IA. I suggested Des Moines because it was the furthest away from Oregon. Haha! Actually, having Qwest pay us $5,000 to move to Iowa was a nice chunk of change that afforded us a nice vacation/road trip to get here, and besides, neither of us had been to the midwest. I researched Des Moines and it seemed like it had a lot to offer.
 
I remember telling Shelly we may end up looking back on the Des Moines decision as one of the best decisions we ever made, and it has proven to be so. In the three years we have been here we have seen parts of the country that we haven’t seen before, and had a blast doing it. This upcoming New York adventure will be a nice capper to the other road trips we’ve had.
 
I can look back now and honestly say that everyone we knew and associated with in Oregon was dragging us down. Oregon itself was dragging us down. Boy how I could elaborate on all that. Sometimes it’s best to just distance yourself from the "what can you do for me" types of people or a state that is run so poorly that it affords it’s citizens little opportunity to get ahead.
 
Anyway, I haven’t spent much time on the computer this past week. Been extremely hot here in Iowa. Temps in the mid to high 90’s with a heat index of 105-110 every day. That kind of heat just exhausts the hell out of me and I have to head to a lake or a river. I hate swimming pools. It even taxed our air conditioner and I had to have our landlord get it recharged.
 
Speaking of air conditioning…Shelly and I bought our PT Cruisers in Oregon and didn’t feel we needed AC in our cars. I mean really, it probably gets hot enough for car AC in Portland about 2-3 weeks total each year if that, and I’m more the type of guy who likes to drive with the windows down blaring my rock-n roll. We have seriously considered trading in one of our cars for one with AC, but with Chrysler going bankrupt, well, probably would’ve lost too much money on the deal. So we’re kinda stuck with our cruisers, but it’s all good. Both cars have performed like champs and we are very happy with them. Only a couple more years of payments, and to think Kevin Francke tried to discourage me from buying new and incurring that much debt. Buying those cars was one of the smartest things we did, all things considered. Glad I paid him no mind.
 
So, the next ten days should prove fun and interesting. I’ll have my laptop with me and plan to share some of the highlights of our trip each night with some pics and a little commentary.  
Comments
  1. Ex-Salem says:

    Well get on it! We look forward to reading all about it!I love Oregon, but there was a time….. 6 months ago that I was ready to move. I had my eyes set on California and the sweetest Marine I have ever met! but, I think PTSD got to him and I have not heard from him since. hmmm I guess I will just have to keep getting my Vitamin D in pill form. And I could not live without my A/C, I sure as hell need it here in Oregon, but then I am a menopausal woman! LOL

  2. Rob says:

    So, our first destination is Cleveland, Ohio and the Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame. We should be in Cleveland before noon Saturday. I wonder if the HOF will be paying tribute in some form to Michael Jackson due to his death today? Might turn out to be an interesting time to visit the HOF. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

