Email From A Site Visitor

Posted: August 28, 2009 in Emails
I’m going to jump ahead a bit here and share an email I received from a site visitor after sharing some of Frank’s more recent letters. Letters I have not posted yet, but am building up to. These recent letters from Frank talk about his feeling that my website is negative in nature, and that that feeeling is shared by his legal team and others. Might the "others" be those who Frank complains he can’t get to help him with various tasks, but are always willing to tell him what they think he wants to hear? Is it possible the others might not even exist? I’ve never heard from any of them, nor Frank’s lawyers on such matters. Why so silent? As long as they don’t attack me publicly with false allegations like Francine or others did, I’m perfectly willing to discuss their concerns privately. Seems to me it’s perfectly obvious where the negativity is originating from, so maybe these people need to direct their concerns to the proper place, including Frank.
 
 
Rob,
 
First, I think your website is factual, if the facts fall on the negative that is what they are. When you insert opinion, you still rely on the facts and are open for anyone to comment or even prove you wrong if they could.
 
I am always suspect when someone tells me what someone else allegedly said. So at this point you do not know what Frank’s lawyers said/think until and unless you hear from them. If I do not hear from the source myself or see a document or whatever is put forth for me to believe, I just cannot trust it. Even if his lawyers said something it may be misconstrued, misquoted, out of context, misunderstood.
 
In all my years I have come to believe hardly anyone is quoted correctly. That is why giving a statement to the police without witness/lawyer or recorded is dangerous business. And I am not even talking about cops who want to shade the evidence, jigsaw puzzle it (make the evidence fit the picture they want) or lie. Cops are humans.
 
Also, after all these years I believe that a lot of people are not lying but that they truly believe their perceptions. A liar is actually pretty easy to trip up or turn, but the person who geniuninely believes what they think they saw/heard etc…. that is actually the truth to them. One then has to go to proving the impossibility of it and not look like they are calling them a liar.
 
People ask me "what about the truth?" and I say "Whose truths?"
 
Then there is the lie to make one look better that I believe all humans have the tendency toward. And there is a good reason for this – honest people get punished more severely!
 
Sometimes the truth is hard to believe and the lie is more believable.
 
Also, people want the world to line up neat and logical and in reality does it really? Folks don’t want to have to explain coincidences and sometimes the dark side or unexcusable. People want nice neat labels and able to put matters in out-boxes and have an understanding of something where there may be none.
 
So! With my psychological ramble,(I do have a degree BTW) you really don’t know what his lawyers said, and with lawyers if they have something to say and have strong opinions they tend to make them known loud and clear. Don’t you think his lawyers would have just contacted you directly?
 
Next, I think for what I know of Frank (which I confess is from reading about him) credibility was always an issue surrounding him. No offense to Frank, but you don’t think prison made that better? Your environment (unless you’re incredibly strong and even then) will shape you.
 
The analogy I give people is if you take a gold medalist sprinter and place both their feet in mud, they will not be the fastest runner. They are still the same person with the same skills, talents and gifts but their environment will obstruct them ever being able to utilize their fullest potential.
 
So you take someone who hasn’t the trait of truthfulness and put him in with other cons… again, my understanding of Frank is that he ran the streets of Salem being unlawful in his activities up to a lot of stuff and the pulse of the community did not believe he committed the murder but we’re willing for him to get that sentence to punish him for all he really did do and was not punished for. (That’s the scuttle butt I heard at the time).
Comments
  1. Ex-Salem says:

    Uh, NO!!! While some of that may be true. Some of it is MESSED-UP thinking! (There was a robbery in Portland, so let’s just round up everyone we can find in the neighborhood and punish them all! Because dayum sure one of them did it. Not to mention, if you live in that neighborhood, you are probably guilty of something!) SPORK! that idea!And by the way, I "ran the streets of Salem being unlawful" when I was growing up. That does not tell you anything except some people go one way and some can resist, me being the later. I did smoke, drink and use drugs, to varying degrees, from the time I was in 5th grade, until I graduated college. I knew these people and grew up with some of these people, I just "chose a different path, and that has made all the difference." ~Robert Frost (LOL, a little sarcasm)Only the ignorant would look the other way while someone is being unjustly convicted. And I don’t know who this "we’re" is that you are talking about. Maybe the extreme Right-wing would be so appalled at his petty crimes to convict him "anyway". But the rest of us, not all ex-stoners either, knew something was not right with this trial and conviction.I don’t know what his "degree" is in. But regardless of whom Frank "was", that still does not give you the right, or anyone to judge him unfairly and use such harsh blanket statements.Tweekers Suck! but they make for some good free entertainment on a Friday night or an afternoon in the ER.

  2. Rob says:

    So should I understand your comment to mean you agree with the majority of this persons email, but have a problem with the final paragraph?Yes, "only the ignorant would look the other way while someone is being unjustly convicted," and isn’t that pretty much what happened in Frank’s case? Haven’t they continued to look the other way for 20 years now? Five years ago I decided to abscond from the ignorant in order to enlighten them, only to discover that immersed among the ignorant were Frank’s own family and those who professed to be doing something. Not to take away from Kevin’s efforts those first few years, but this case was allowed to simply die off since 1995. Those who had seemingly gone to great lengths to uncover the truth allowed themselves to join the ignorant, look the other way, and go on with their lives. Frank says the same in his letters. In the process they allowed some of the most important years to simply evaporate. Witnesses to disappear and guilty parties to die. It will be much more difficult now, 20 years later, to discover the truth. Don’t you think?Still, I made an effort five years ago to jumpstart some renewed interest in this case, only to have those who should’ve been the most supportive be the ones to belittle it and tear it down. Go figure.Like this writer said in their email, "I think your website is factual, if the facts fall on the negative that is what they are. When you insert opinion, you still rely on the facts and are open for anyone to comment or even prove you wrong if they could."Have any of them taken the time to prove me wrong? No, they have looked the other way. Par for the course.Have you ever heard of the Troy Davis case? He was convicted of killing an off-duty cop and sentenced to death, although has generated the support of some very influential people. People like President Jimmy Carter, Pope Benedict XVI, Nobel laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Presidential candidate Bob Barr, and former FBI Director and judge William S. Sessions. All have called upon the courts to grant Davis a new trial or evidentiary hearing. On 17 August 2009, the U.S. Supreme Court, over the dissenting votes of two justices, ordered a federal district court in Georgia to consider and rule on whether new evidence "that could not have been obtained at the time of trial clearly establishes Davis’ innocence. Imagine what we all could’ve accomplished without the BS. BTW, Davis’ case originated the same year as the Francke murder and he’s been at the federal level in his appeals process for a few years now. Frank is still stalled in State court over that resentencing issue. Think about that.Do you think the actions of Frank’s sister, the Franckes and others, have helped to generate support for Frank’s plight? Hardly.You said, "(There was a robbery in Portland, so let’s just round up everyone we can find in the neighborhood and punish them all! Because dayum sure one of them did it. Not to mention, if you live in that neighborhood, you are probably guilty of something!) Isn’t that precisely what happened after Francke’s murder? "Course that would be a bit strange for a robbery in PDX, but it wasn’t a robbery in PDX. It was a high profile murder of a govt. official in Salem, and that is precisely what cops do throughout the entire country in high profile murder cases. It’s really nothing new.The writer’s degree is in psychology. My bad for allowing my edits in order to conceal their identity not making that more clear. I think the word "we’re was misspelled, and should have read "were."

  3. Rob says:

    The anonymous writer responds to Ex-Salem’s comment…The paragraph/thoughts that are objectionable to people, I believe were misread/and or read out of context…. again – as I said people’s perceptions color everything. If anyone reads my comments for what they say (not perceived) – no where in there do I say that I believe that way or that I agree with those thoughts. What I was pointing out is that was what the Salem community at the time (the pulse of the local culture) was saying. And that gets to the meat of the problem of why some folks (not me) will let unjust actions slide. In sum, those who fight it are also taking on the fabric of the social majority…. not an easy task. I think such comments prove my point of how people follow their perceptions and not the facts and that is exactly what happened in Frank’s case. If these commenters could do it here how can they blame others that did it to Frank? And blame accomplishes nothing, but action to correct what was unskillfully done – is what counts.

  4. Ex-Salem says:

    I don’t care what the "majority" opinion is, I never have. I don’t even let peer pressure influence me. So when you say "…some folks (not me) will let unjust actions slide. In sum, those who fight it are also taking on the fabric of the social majority…. not an easy task."Well that is me, I am VERY stubborn and will state my opinion and stand behind it no matter what they rest of the "group" says. I have my opinions and beliefs, but I am ignorant when it comes to "moving a mountain", but I am willing to do whatever I can to help. Just don’t ask me to set the game plan. I would not call myself a ‘follower’, but some areas are not my expertise.As far as "What I was pointing out is that was what the Salem community at the time (the pulse of the local culture) was saying."Yeah we wanted someones ass in jail, but we wanted the ‘real murderer’. A lot of people I talked to after Frank was convicted did not believe he did it, from punks to business men. So someone misconstrued the "pulse of the local culture"! The public wanted ice cream, and you gave them yogurt!! LMAO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

