Do You Have the Right to Flip Off a Cop? – Yahoo! News

Posted: September 16, 2009 in News Articles

Courts have consistently ruled that foul language is a constitutionally protected form of expression. A famous 1971 Supreme Court case upheld the right of a young man to enter the Los Angeles County Court House wearing a jacket emblazoned with the words "Fuck the Draft."

"The law is clear that people have the constitutional right to use profanity, especially when it comes to government officials, because that is a form of political speech," Walczak says.

 

Do You Have the Right to Flip Off a Cop? – Yahoo! News

Comments
  1. shylox3 says:

    The story, and many things about this case made me think of one of my favorite songs. Signs, by Five Man Electrical Band.

  2. Rob says:

    I couldn’t resist posting this due to all the flak I got (mostly from Frank and his sister) for using profanity at times in my message forum. Hey, sometimes I’m inclined to swear. The couple of years I spent in prison probably contribute to that. You’d think Frank spent the past 20 years in the seminary instead of prison with some of the comments he made to me in his letters about my use of profanity. LOL! Oh well, like I really give a fuck. If I feel like swearing I’m gonna swear, cuz that’s just me. Should I pretend to be something I’m not? Got enough of that goin on around here for years. LOL!I can see how this article reminded you of the song "Signs." Great song, and redone really well by Tesla a few years back. Tesla is coming to a small club here in West Des Moines next month and I can”t wait. Their new album released a few months back could almost be a soundtrack for my website. Crazy weird. Like one of the songs "So What."There’s things that i’ve bought And there’s things I need It’s more than a thought, You know you better believe I feel it’s not what you got, But what your giving back means So much Lifes beautiful, And that sucks Hey if you like it or not So what, that’s all we got Who cares! Your telling everybody that the worlds unfair, well So What! So What! That’s life It’s time to get real, It’s not paradise,well So What! So What! What if you got, All of your dreams But then what if it’s not Everything, To you that you always thought That it was gonna be So What Life’s beautiful, And that sucks Hey if you like it or not So what, that’s all we got Who cares! Your telling everybody that the worlds unfair, well So What! So What! That’s life It’s time to get real, It’s not paradise,well So What! So What! Who cares! Your telling everybody that the worlds unfair, well So What! So What! That’s life It’s time to get real, It’s not paradise,well So What! So What! Who cares! Your telling everybody that the worlds unfair, well So What! So What! That’s life It’s time to get real, It’s not paradise,well So What! So What!

  3. Rob says:

    Ok, gotta throw a couple more song lyrics out off Tesla’s new album that I feel could be a soundtrack for my website. Maybe you’ll see what I mean.Title track "Forever More" Now playing on homepage of this blog…http://freefrankgable.spaces.live.com/why say anything if it doesn’t mean nothing at all if everything you do there’s something in it for you or you won’t do it at all stay away ’cause i’m all about givin’ a helping hand talk about love every chance i can please don’t misunderstand me ’cause i’m all about givin’ the dog a bone come on everybody let’s get it on come on let’s get it on all that i believe is what i’m fighting for and i will always be this way forever more if i stand alone i’ll be here like a stone forever, forever, forever yes i know exactly how the story goes it was all meant to be but there’s just too much crazy shit going on what is wrong with me you can call me anything you want cause i don’t wanna be just another one repeating history please don’t misunderstand me all i do is listen to my heart as it talks to me (doing as i wish, ah just let it bleed, let it bleed)??? all that i believe is what i’m fighting for and i will always be this way forever more if i stand alone i’ll be here like a stone forever, forever, forever if i only i could change, it’s too late or maybe rearrange my mind, it’s too late if only i could cha-a-a-a-a-a-a-ange all that i believe is what i’m fighting for and i will always be this way forever more if i stand alone i’ll be here like a stone forever, forever, forever ’cause all that i believe is what i’m fighting for and i will always be this way forever more if i stand alone i’ll be here like a stone forever, forever, forever more"Just In Case"…my personal message to Godoutside the sky is blue always try to do my part but now it’s raining in my heart there’s just so much i could do it’s nearly got ahold of me it’s why i feel so incomplete a lost and broken man only i would understand i’d be more than glad to join right in only i could pray i know what i would say to whom it may concern just in case i don’t make it to heaven i’d like to personally thank you for giving something so beautiful makes life worth living yeah thank you just in case i i’m trying once again everytime i try to talk to it’s like i never seem to get through i never have the strength, never put my faith in you maybe i should just realize i don’t deserve you in my life they say it’s in your hands everything’s just like you planned it’s good enough for them, so why not me only i could pray i know what i would say dear god i’m talking to ya just in case i don’t make it to heaven i’d like to personally thank you for giving something so beautiful makes life worth living yeah thank you just in case i soon enough my time will come the hours getting late the sun is setting fast and you’ll be standing by the gate i’m sure you’re going to say to me son why couldn’t you just relate i said to tell you the truth i already do in so many other ways just in case i don’t make it to heaven i’d like to personally thank you for giving something so beautiful makes life worth living yeah thank you just in case i just in case i don’t make it to heaven i’d like to personally thank you for giving something so beautiful makes life worth living yeah thank you just in case i i don’t make it

Leave a Reply

